Electronics association chalks up some early successes

September 25th, 2015, Published in Articles: EngineerIT


Arei committee 2015-2016.

At the recently held annual general meeting of the Association of Representatives for the Electronics Industry (AREI) chairman, Arnold Perumal, reported some early successes since the organisation’s transformation from ADEC to AREI, a move that is aimed at unifying the voice of industry with the prime objective to contribute to the creation of an environment which encourages a dynamic growth of the electronic manufacturing industry at both component and systems level.

AREI interacts with government and other bodies, and the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), in regard to the formulation of strategies, revisions to import duty tariffs, new specifications, and other matters which would encourage the growth of the electronics manufacturing industry in this country. Today AREI has DTI on its committee as a non-voting member to harvest information from the industry and put forward proposals to government from a central body. “During the past year AREI has worked closely with the DTI to finalise proposals to government to review tariffs and import duties that are restrictive to grow the South African electronics industry,” said Perumal.

“We cemented our relationship with Trade & Investment KwaZulu-Natal which is a provincial trade and investment promotion agency, developed to promote the province as an investment destination and promote trade by assisting KZN-based companies to identify markets and export their products. Together we presented the second National Electronics-AREI Regional Expo in May this year at Durban’s Moses Mabhida stadium.  Feedback from all involved has been very positive and exceeded expectations.  Bringing together the country’s leading suppliers from design through to manufacture, this electronics event offered a great range of product knowledge, services and learning with a full seminar programme.”

Next year the National Electronics AREI Expo will return to the Johannesburg – Pretoria area in 2016.  Dates are still to be confirmed.

The following were elected to the AREI committee:

Arnold Perumal – chairman (Avnet SA)
Neil Pickup (Avnet SA}
Andrew Dixon (Electrocomp)
Tony dal Maso (Asic Design Services)
Stuart Hanford (Arrow Altech)
Stephan Martinussen (Arrow Altech)
Petrus Booyens (Osram Opto Semiconductors)
Callie Lombard (Hi-Q)
Duane Jordaan (TRXE)
Rudi Opperman (TRXE)
Warren Muir (Thata uBeke Manufacturing)

Non-voting members

Malckey Tehini (Dataweek)
Irene Blythe (EE Publishers)
Donnee Kruger (TIKZN)
Tshepo Motsoane (DTI)
Yusuf Timol (DTI)
Jenny Gooding (secretary)

Related Articles

  • Green BLDC fan driver lowers energy use
  • EE Publishers 2020 Year Planners
  • ContinuitySA wins IRMSA Award with Resilience 2.0
  • Deep learning sensor for Industry 4.0
  • Discover the new world of pneumatics