International story maps contest opens for entries

August 26th, 2019, Published in Articles: PositionIT

The all-new ArcGIS StoryMapper of the Year contest is now open.

Esri is giving away a $5000 grand prize to the contest winner, who will get to decide how it will be used to help their community. The winner will be named StoryMapper of the Year, and their original story map will be featured on the company’s website.  The winner will be announced to the world by Esri CEO Jack Dangermond on GIS Day (13 November 2019). In addition to the grand prize winner, four runners-up will also be chosen to receive $1000 each for their project. Entries close 30 September 2019.

How to enter

  • Be imaginative and use the new ArcGIS StoryMaps to create your story map.
  • Tell Esri how you’d spend $5000 to help your community.
  • Enter the contest by 30 September 2019. All entries must use the new ArcGIS StoryMaps.

The judging process

The top 25 entries will be chosen by the Esri team. Then, guest judges will review the top 25 entries and narrow it down to five finalists. The guest judges are Alex Tait, Michael Goodchild, and James Fallows. Contestants will be judged on the following criteria:

  • Is the story map’s subject matter interesting and understandable?
  • Is the story map engaging, and does it draw the reader in?
  • Is the story map eye-catching, well designed, and original?
  • Is the community project idea inspiring, creative, and feasible?

Next, the five finalists’ story maps will be featured on the company’s website, and online voting will begin. The grand prize winner will be determined by which entry gets the most votes or likes by online voters.

For more information and to enter the contest, visit: Story map resources are also available at

Related Articles

  • Now Media acquires EngineerIT and Energize from EE Publishers
  • Latest GIS further supports electric and gas networks
  • EE Publishers 2020 Year Planners
  • To readers, customers, suppliers, staff and other stakeholders of PositionIT
  • Mozambique’s land administration modernisation