Join the debate on the restructuring of Eskom

March 21st, 2018, Published in Articles: EE Publishers, Articles: Energize

You, your friends, colleagues, business associates and all interested persons are cordially invited to attend an open, energy sector debate to consider:

Should Eskom be restructured, and if so, how and when?

DATE: Thursday 10 May 2018
TIME: 15h00 for 15h30 to 18h00, with drinks and snacks thereafter
VENUE: Axiz Auditorium (map here), International Business Gateway, cnr. New Rd and 6th St, Midrand
COST: R100 per person, payable at the door, to cover snacks and drinks (no cost for bona fide editors, journalists and camera crews covering the debate)

Join the debate, explore the issues, shape the future, and network with energy sector leaders, colleagues, business associates and friends, in a cordial and professional environment!

Click here to register and book your seat

The chairperson of the debate and the presenters of the three motions will all be participating in the debate in their personal capacities.

The debate will be chaired by Mr. Chris Forlee, CEO of NERSA, and three motions will be presented as follows:

Motion 1: Presented by Mr. Frans Baleni, former secretary-general of NUM, currently vice chairman of the Development Bank of Southern Africa:
Although needing renewed financial, operational and maintenance discipline, and rooting out of maladministration and corruption, the current Eskom structure as a vertically integrated SOE is suitable and appropriate for the socio-economic and developmental needs of South Africa”.

Motion 2: Presented by Ms. Nelisiwe Magubane, former DG at Department of Energy, currently chairperson of Matleng Energy Solutions & Trinergi Advisory Services, & non-executive director of Eskom:
“While maintaining the current structure as a vertically integrated utility, increased public participation in the business of Eskom through additional public and/or strategic equity partners is needed to recapitalize the business and introduce enhanced accountability and transparency”.

Motion 3: Presented by Dr. Grové Steyn, infrastructure and regulatory economist, and director at Meridian Economics, Cape Town:
“The business model of Eskom, and indeed the whole electricity supply industry in South Africa needs to fundamentally restructured to make it fit-for-purpose to face the challenges of future electricity supply, generally along the lines proposed in the Government White Paper on Energy Policy of 1998”.

15h00 – 15h30: Arrival and registration in foyer, soft drinks served.
15h30 – 15h45: Introduction of chairperson, presenters and motions for debate.
15h45 – 16h30: 15 minute presentation by each of the 3 presenters.
16h30 – 17h30: Open discussion and Q & A between the presenters and the audience.
17h30 – 17h45: 5 minute final summation by each of the 3 presenters.
17h45 – 18h00: Wrap up by chairperson, voting on the motions, and thanks.
18h00 – 19h30: Cocktail party with snacks, wine, beer, ciders and soft drinks.

Click here to register and book your seat 

Join the debate, explore the issues and shape the future!

Background of the chairperson and presenters at the debate

Mr. Chris Forlee
Mr. Chris Forlee is the CEO and full-time regulator member of the National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA). He is an electrical engineer with technical and managerial experience across the energy sector, from electricity to oil and gas, in the utility, regulatory, government and private sectors. Mr. Forlee was an engineer at Eskom from 1991 to 2003, and specialist for electricity trading and access at NERSA from 2004 till 2007. He joined the Department of Public Enterprises (DPE) from 2007 to 2012, where he became deputy director-general for energy and broadband. He was appointed regulatory, government and public affairs manager at British Petroleum South Africa from 2012 to 2014, and became an independent energy consultant from 2014 to 2015. Mr. Forlee then re-joined NERSA to become acting regulator member for petroleum pipeline regulation in 2016. He was appointed CEO and fulltime regulator member of NERSA in January 2017.

Mr. Frans Baleni
Mr. Frans Baleni is deputy chairperson of the Development Bank of Southern Africa, chairperson of the JB Marks Bursary Trust Fund and Mineworkers Investment Trust, and non-executive director at Rand Mutual Assurance. Mr. Baleni was a non-executive director of Eskom from 2002 to 2006, and secretary-general at the National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) from 2006 to 2015. He is director of the Development Institute for Training, Support and Education for Labour (DITSELA), and executive director of the NUM College (Elija Barayi Memorial Training Centre). He is a member of council at the University of Johannesburg, and national education co-ordinator of NUM. He is an executive member of International Federation of Chemical, Energy, Mine and General Workers’ Unions.


Ms. Nelisiwe Magubane
Ms. Nelisiwe Magubane is a former director-general at the South African Department of Energy, and is currently chairperson of Matleng Energy Solutions and Trinergi Advisory Services, and non-executive director of Eskom. Ms. Magubane is an electrical engineer with more than 25 years of experience in the energy sector. Her main expertise is in programme and project management, renewable energy, liquid fuels, power stations, substations, power lines, cable networks, building services and housing projects. Ms. Magubane has vast experience in policy development in the energy sector. She has been identified as one of the top 50 most influential people in the Southern African energy sector, and is also a champion of women development in the energy sector in South Africa.


Dr. Grové Steyn
Dr. Grové Steyn is an infrastructure and regulatory economist, and director at Meridian Economics. He started his career as an industrial engineer at Eskom, and has worked as an energy and power sector policy researcher at University of Cape Town; at the Human Sciences Research Council; as a senior policy and economic advisor to Government and NERSA; as a regulatory advisor to Transnet; and as an infrastructure expert in electricity and pipeline sector commercial and regulatory litigation. Dr. Grové Steyn served on the Windfall Tax Task Team appointed by Minister Trevor Manual and on the team responsible for drafting the 1998 White Paper on Energy Policy. Grové was a founding member of a renewable power trading business GreenX Energy.

Click here to register and book your seat 

Join the debate, explore the issues and shape the future!

Related Articles

  • South African Government COVID-19 Corona Virus Resource Portal
  • Ministerial determinations propose 13813 MW of new-build by IPPs, none by Eskom
  • Crunch time for South Africa’s national nuclear company, Necsa
  • Dealing with the elephant in the room that is Eskom…
  • Interview with Minerals & Energy Minister Gwede Mantashe