News form the East/South Cape

November 22nd, 2016, Published in Articles: Vector


We have held our annual general meetings in George, East London and Port Elizabeth and we congratulate the committee members who were elected to the Regional Executive Committee for 2016/2017.

The elected members in George are Edwin Joshua of EvJ Electrical (chairman); Wayne Hodgson of Terayne Electrical (vice chairman) and  Lucendo Gadu of Izazi Technologies.

In East London,  these members are Mike Taberer of C&C Electrical (chairman); Roy Hopewell, East Cape Electrical Advisory & Inspections, (vice chairman);  Shawn Mills of EGM Contracting and Marlie Electrical’s Marcus Stanworth.

The elected members in Port Elizabeth are Graham Clarke of Graham Clarke Electrical (chairman); Ti-Jean Nabal of Bay Electrical(vice chairman);  Michael Straton of Straton Electrical and Vivien de Lange from Servelec.


East London Committee From left to right: Shawn Mills, Mike Taberer, Ellen Mare (Office Administrator), Marcus Stanworth, Lucas Bowles (Regional Director) and Roy Hopewell.

The East London Committee are, from left, Shawn Mills, Mike Taberer, Ellen Mare, Marcus Stanworth, Lucas Bowles (regional director) and Roy Hopewell.

ECA(SA) Charity Golf Day 2016

The Port Elizabeth branch hosted a very successful charity golf day at the Walmer Country Club on 3 November 2016. A total of 64 players participated in extremely unpleasant conditions and gale force winds reaching 70 km per hour at times. Not to be deterred, we enjoyed a lovely day of social golf in the company of electrical contractors, consultants, wholesalers, manufacturers, suppliers and training providers.

We wish to thank the participants and sponsors following companies for taking part in the event and for their generous sponsorship of cash and prizes which enabled every player in the competition to walk away with a prize:

The format for the day was a four-ball Stableford competition with two scores to count, and all scores counting on the short holes.

The winners of the first prize were Ivor Smith Electrical, with 91 points. The Willows came second with 88 points and team Edison Power Electrical came third, with 88 points.


The winning team from Ivor Smith Electrical



Team The Willows, runners-up for the day.


The surplus money raised on the day will be donated to a number of charity organisations in Port Elizabeth in terms of the ECA Social Responsibility policy.

As in previous years, the commitment and passion displayed by Wilmarie Smith ensured the success of our 2016


Team Edison Power Electrical, second runners-up.

Our stalwart MC, Larry Kozak, assisted in handing out the prizes and we thank Walmer Country Club for the
condition of the course and for the use of their facilities.

Lucas Bowles, ECA regional director South/East Cape

Related Articles

  • Picture Gallery 1: Nedbank/ EE Publishers seminar on Gas sector in SA
  • Picture Gallery 2: Nedbank/ EE Publishers seminar on Gas sector in SA
  • Gas detector for multiple applications
  • South African coal faces bleak outlook
  • South African coal exports outlook: Approaching long-term decline